Free Shipping On Tillers (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
< Back to Product

Husqvarna 960 93 00-18 Gas s Reviews & Ratings - Product Discontinued

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Discontinued
Husqvarna 960 93 00-18 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (2)
Reliable (2)
High Quality (2)
Fast (1)
Price (1)
Cons
Handle Is Way Too Short (1)
Expensive (1)
100% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
34 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Christopher C.
Aurora, IL
Purchased from Tillers Direct
Purchased 2/10/13
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
08
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Tiller Is Very Powerful!
I bought this tiller on Feb. 11th, 2013. Power Direct and R & L carriers were very nice and helpful. The tiller came with oil already in the motor and was easy to assemble. I have a 3600 sq. ft. garden that I share with my mom and my brother. I also have tilled other people's garden plots for money. So far I have tilled 13 plots each with two passes, most were 20' x 30' and have used less than 5 gallons of gasoline. The tiller is powerful enough to dig up large rocks that are 6'' across and... more
Was this review helpful?
111
David G.
Portland, OR
Purchased from Tillers Direct
Purchased 4/18/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
16 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
28
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
A Piece Of Junk
I was getting used to the fact that this tiller doesn't do a very good job actually tilling, and getting used to the idea that the ground needs many passes to get through it - and my ground is in pretty good condition - not too dry of packed or hard, etc. Then on the 3rd use, the transmission broke, with no advance warning signs. Now I have work to do and a machine that does absolutely nothing. Take my advice and buy something else!
Was this review helpful?
91
David
Purchased from Tillers Direct
Purchased 4/18/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
16 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Breaks
The roll pin on the shift lever broke quickly - it s a cheap piece of metal. I had to go buy a better one. Husqvarna was NO HELP on the phone. It works OK, but if you have tough ground - meaning not tilled before - buy a heavier machine.
Was this review helpful?
71
Gary
Purchased from Tillers Direct
Purchased 4/13/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
06
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
My Review
Starts easy, but the drive belt keeps falling off. Needed tightening and adjusting during first use. Belt is hard to get at. You need to take wheel and cover plate off. Engine also cuts out occasionally. Not easily transported in a truck with a cap. Rototillers do a decent job tilling. Controls are very hard to shift in the different gears. Delivery was very quick.
Was this review helpful?
82
Harry C.
Barrington, NH
Purchased from Tillers Direct
Purchased 3/6/13
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
It's Ok..needs A Few Issues Taken Care Of
Was a little confusing to assemble (even though there was very little assembly required) as the drawing reference lines for bolts to bolt hole on the instructions were very light and easy to miss. Could use a bit more power, but does do OK in that respect.

The biggest issue is that it is very hard to shift and I'm afraid I will break something in the shifting mechanism when actually shifting.
Other than those few concerns, seems to work very well and is easy to start. I am pleased with... more
Was this review helpful?
60
Cindylee O.
Custer, WA
Purchased from Tillers Direct
Purchased 5/2/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
23
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Tilling My Garden
Although I like the tiller a lot , I don't like the lever is so hard to squeeze . It cramps my hand and I have to stop several times before I am done. I was hoping it would be easier for a woman to handle but it is not . I always have to have somebody out there in case something happens because I am just not comfortable with it by myself.
Was this review helpful?
50
Aj
Meriden, CT
Purchased from Tillers Direct
Purchased 4/12/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
05
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Aj
The Tiller arrived on time and we had in unpacked, assembled, and in operation within 15 minutes.

This machine has not disappointed in any way. It is easy to maneuver, tough on roots up to 2 inches thick, and very easy to adjust to various settings.

In the first 3 hrs. we had cleared and tilled 3/4s of an acre and put down seed.

Excellent choice.
Was this review helpful?
50
John A.
Deltona, FL
Purchased from Tillers Direct
Purchased 9/16/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
08
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Tiller
My Husqvarna tiller started on the first pull and runs very quiet. It can be operated with one hand, and it does a nice job of turning the soil so that grass and weeds are under the dirt after just one pass.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Reliable, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
John Recommends This Husqvarna Product
John Would Recommend Tillers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast delivery, and reasonable prices."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
David Moore
Indianapolis, IN
Purchased from Tillers Direct
Purchased 6/11/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Deal
Makes hard work easy. Dual rotating tines are a must have. Best of both worlds. Read instructions for proper use
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, Fast
David Recommends This Husqvarna Product
David Would Recommend Tillers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast shipping easy no taxes"
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Skip L.
Hulett, WY
Purchased from Tillers Direct
REVIEWED
JUN.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mini Farming
The DRT arrived with not even a dent in the cardboard crate. Assembly a piece of cake. Checked oil level, put 91 octane gas in it and off we went. Tilled very well at different depths and cultivation was a breeze. Once I adapted to the shifter, smooth sailing. Shifting was a little stiff, just shook it a bit and off to the races once more, scale wise give it a 9 for quality in that price range, for maintenance and handling. So far has lived up to expectations.

Skip, a retired rancher down... more
Was this review helpful?
30
Mike G.
Frankfort, KY
REVIEWED
APR.
06
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Mr. G
Tiller is hard to shift and will absolutely beat you to death. There is no way someone could use it with one hand. I have a small Mantis that is ten times the tiller.
Was this review helpful?
20
Mary
Shawnee, KS
Purchased from Tillers Direct
Purchased 3/8/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
30
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Too Late For Planting
Received it
Started it
It Ran for 10 seconds
Currently in the shop while potato seed rots.
Was this review helpful?
20
Y
Purchased from Tillers Direct
Purchased 4/9/13
REVIEWED
APR.
30
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Tiller!
Great experience! Purchased tiller via Tillers Direct after unsuccessful visits to local Lowes and Home Depot (couldn't find what we were looking for at the price we were willing to pay, and they wanted to charge a big delivery fee). Got this tiller in about a week after ordering. Freight truck came right up to our house and offloaded the tiller. Tiller was packed well (wrapped up and framed with wood on a crate). We have used to to till up a huge garden of packed clay. Tiller ate right thru it... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Duncan K.
Berrien Springs, MI
Purchased from Tillers Direct
Purchased 3/27/13
REVIEWED
APR.
17
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
What Weeds?
I have used this tiller for 2-3 hrs a day for just 4-5 days and it's made an amazing difference to my yard (5 acres). I've planted 15 trees, broken through 1/2 acre established grassland to make new flowerbeds, and tilled about 3/4 acre cultivated ground. It just tears through anything (except rocks of course!). I love it. Weeds hate it. Even thistles.

The only problem I have is the gears seem to stick a bit, but a bit of intimidation is all that is needed.
Was this review helpful?
10
Jerry
Purchased from Tillers Direct
Purchased 3/21/13
REVIEWED
APR.
12
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Tiller
I needed a tiller but found the best deal online with Tillers Direct. No tax and free shipping and it was still $50 less than the retailers in the area. Set up was easy and I was tilling ground within an hour! A+
Was this review helpful?
10
David F.
Flat Rock, NC
Purchased from Tillers Direct
Purchased 3/16/13
REVIEWED
APR.
09
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Is Absolutly Great...
I use it with a DRT900 for making rows and it works great on that great tiller. I don't engage the tines when I'm using it and walk beside it with only one hand hand holding the clutch and the rows are straight and the depth I want.
Was this review helpful?
21
Thomas T.
Purchased from Tillers Direct
Purchased 3/12/13
REVIEWED
APR.
03
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
One Great Tiller
I owned a Troy Bilt Horse Pro 12 years ago. I like the DRT900 even more. With the reverse tine rotation I was able to turn my back yard lawn into garden-ready in only about six passes. Also had a lot of tree roots (I had to manually remove the big ones) which the tiller whacked through without even breaking a shear pin. Much easier to handle and turn than the Horse. Just wish I had another 1/4 acre to till up.
Was this review helpful?
10
Jack L.
Hillsboro, OR
Purchased from Tillers Direct
Purchased 3/10/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
31
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Drt900 Tiller Works Harder Than I Do
Finally, a tiller that does its own work and only needs my guidance. That's the way it should be.
We ordered the tiller on Sunday and took delivery on the following Friday.
Your shipper must not have stopped for breaks.
Set up was simple and this Briggs & Stratton started up on the second pull after the first tank of gas was filled.
The blackberries are already hating it.
Was this review helpful?
10
Richard W.
Arapahoe, NC
Purchased from Tillers Direct
Purchased 2/22/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
17
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Workhorse
Replaced a Troy Bilt that died after many faithful years of service with this Husky and I couldn't be happier. It has performed above my expectations.
Was this review helpful?
10
Max
Purchased from Tillers Direct
Purchased 1/5/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
18
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Drt Tiller
I have used it once just to try it out, still cold here.
It did fine except the engine will not hold a consistent RPM while digging and the soil is not hard.
It seems the governor is oscillating unnecessarily!
Was this review helpful?
10
Steve
Purchased from Tillers Direct
Purchased 9/7/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
29
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Condition At Time Of Delivery
Although I have not yet used the machine, it is as advertised. I saw one at a local store, but it had a Liquid Combustion Technology engine. I was not familiar with it and did not want to spend the additional $50 dollars for the Honda engine. My local small engine repair shop said only a GX rated Honda is of a premium quality, so I went with the larger Briggs and Stratton engine.

The delivery trucker noticed loose hardware on the floor of his truck and luckily I went back to his truck as he... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Joseph C.
New Middletown, OH
Purchased from Tillers Direct
Purchased 4/5/12
REVIEWED
MAY.
10
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Hard To Shift
Something wrong with gear shift, hard to shift hard to operate would like to return and get my money back.

TD RESPONDS: Engine-powered equipment cannot be returned once it has been gassed or oiled due to federal shipping regulations. If the product has been gassed or oiled, it needs to be taken to an authorized service center for repair which may be covered under warranty. Please contact Husqvarna technical service or a local authorized repair center to see if they can address the problem.
Was this review helpful?
10
Rick
Purchased from Tillers Direct
Purchased 4/18/12
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It
It came already filled with engine oil and took less then 10 minutes to set up, fill with gas and get going out of the crate. It started on the second pull and has been going strong ever since.

The first thing I used it for is to make a new garden about 150x100 feet in an area thick with grass that had not been worked in decades. The tiller made easy work of the initial ground breaking and the follow-up soil finishing to make things ready to plant.

I highly recommend this tiller and... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Thomas Gosch
Flagstaff, AZ
REVIEWED
MAR.
12
2012
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Hoping For A Better Day
I received my 900DRT as promised, it was easy to assemble and started right up. When I first tried it the ground was too hard even though I had ripped it some with my tractor. I soaked the area and came back a few days later and tried to till it again. The tiller did a great job for about fifteen minutes then the tiller portion froze up. We're about to see how good the warranty is and how much hassle it is to get it fixed. Stay tuned.
Was this review helpful?
10
Phil
Groesbeck, TX
REVIEWED
MAR.
05
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Tiller - How Could It Be Any Better?
This is our first garden (2000 sq. ft.) on our new property in Texas so we spent a lot of time researching tillers before selecting this model. We have sandy loam soil but needed to break it up real well the first time and till in some top soil and manure. I have always wanted a Troy-Bilt for as long as I can remember but after checking reviews on multiple sites and comparing price/value we settled on the Husqvarna. And so far we are glad we did!

Our whole experience with PED from... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Joe
REVIEWED
FEB.
19
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love My Tiller
We own a small parcel of land that has not seen any cultivation in 20+ years, except the occasional bull dozer driving through. So in short the ground is very compacted and also contains tons of gravel (about 2-3" in size). So when we wanted a tiller to make a garden near the site where we are going to build, we looked for something a little larger, though easier to handle then the one we had tried before.

This one has reverse running tines, and this is awesome. The tines work... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Francisco S.
Wheaton, MD
Purchased from Tillers Direct
Purchased 11/13/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
04
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Nice Machine, But
Started on first pull, powerful, does a great job,very nice machine. The Handle is far too low,and when it digs down it is even worse.
Pros: Reliable, High Quality
Cons: Handle Is Way Too Short
Francisco Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael
Purchased from Tillers Direct
Purchased 3/31/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
13
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Perfect
I have some ground that has never been tilled. The 960 took out the grass and provided me with a great place to plant my garden. Great machine with no problems.
Was this review helpful?
22
David
Purchased from Tillers Direct
Purchased 8/30/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
23
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Wonderful, Labor-saving Machine
The DRT900 was purchased new and was delivered to my driveway. I requested a lift gate delivery. After talking to the truck driver over the telephone, he was timely and even helped move the huge box into my garage.

Some assembly was required but directions were included- so no problems.

I have heavy clay soil which is difficult to dig and even more difficult to grow plants in. After the sun bakes the soil, it seems a crust develops and just gets harder and thicker. The DRT900 tilled thru... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Dennis A.
Purlear, NC
Purchased from Tillers Direct
Purchased 6/10/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
24
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
When My Tiller Broke Down
The Husqvarna Tiller works great. And it was priced with lowes and home depot, and Tillers Direct delivered it to my door, I did not have to spend money for gas.
Was this review helpful?
00
Cecil N.
Mansfield, TX
Purchased from Tillers Direct
Purchased 4/6/12
REVIEWED
APR.
28
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cecil Nall
I like the tiller very good. It is easy to start and I can till with one hand on the tiller.
Was this review helpful?
00
Stephen
Purchased from Tillers Direct
Purchased 4/4/12
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Junk In The Trunk!
I was hesitant spending the extra money for a rear tine tiller because I had always used a front tine tiller. Well worth the difference in cash. Haven't found anything to stop it yet!
Was this review helpful?
00
Dave
Purchased from Tillers Direct
Purchased 3/26/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
11
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
What A Workhorse
I set it on the lawn where I wanted the garden and began tilling. This tiller is a work horse! I tilled up about 1/8 of an acre. I have gone back over it adding compost and tilling it in. Absolutely love this tiller. I recommend it for anyone. It's not too heavy, easy to start, and easy to push.
Was this review helpful?
01
Russell B.
Effingham, IL
Purchased from Tillers Direct
Purchased 3/22/12
REVIEWED
APR.
12
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My New Husqvarna Tiller
I ordered it, it came in record time. The trucker was very pleasant and friendly. I had a little trouble with filling it with oil, I did not understand that the level full place was at the bottom and not where I was putting the oil in. Therefore I filled it too full and got a lot of smoke. After a call to the tech help desk I drained the oil and did it correctly and now it runs fine. People who are familiar with Briggs Stratton motors tell me this is the way you do it, but I was not... more
Was this review helpful?
01
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials